r r r

Directorate for Cultural Heritage

Skip to main content

European cooperation

Nordic flags. Photo: Riksantikvaren.


The activities of the Directorate for Cultural Heritage in Europe are wide-ranging; they include cooperation with the Nordic countries, the Baltic Sea States and with our sister organisations across the EU / EEA as well as with institutions such as the Council of Europe. The Directorate cooperates with the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in managing the EEA and Norway Grants relevant to cultural heritage.

A number of topics form the basis for the exchange of experience and assessments in the Nordic context. These countries also play a part in the Baltic cooperation under the auspices of the Council of the Baltic Sea States, together with Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia and Germany.

The European Heritage Heads Forum is an informal network that brings together the heads of the European state heritage authorities to share ideas about the management of historic environments. Norway hosted the meeting in Oslo in May 2013 where 28 delegations participated.

Through the network EHLF (European Heritage Legal Forum) we cooperate with our European colleagues in monitoring EU legislation and policy development relevant to cultural heritage.

The Directorate is also a member of the RG (Reflection Group on EU and Cultural Heritage). This group consists of 23 member countries and functions as a clearing house for initiating joint activities at EU level. An example is the support of member’s countries in the preparation of the EU Ministerial Declaration (of June 2014) on cultural heritage as a strategic resource for the EU.

Through the European standardisation body CEN TC 346 we contribute to development of European standards that are in the interests of cultural heritage protection in Norway.

Norway takes part in several EU programmes through the EEA Agreement. The Directorate is making active efforts to include Norwegian cultural heritage institutions in European cooperation and research projects.

The EEA Grants is Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein's contribution to reducing economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area. The Directorate acts as an expert adviser to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, maintains contact with other European cultural heritage institutions and participates in cooperation programmes and projects.

The Monitoring Group on Cultural Heritage in the Baltic Sea States consists of representatives from the cultural heritage sector in the Baltic Sea region. Norway is represented by the Directorate for Cultural Heritage and the Norwegian Archive, Library and Museum Authority. The countries participating are Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Russia, Poland and Germany. The work of the group consists of building networks and the mutual exchange of experience. Four permanent working groups have also been established to work on more specific and practical assignments.