r r r

Directorate for Cultural Heritage

Skip to main content

Struve Geodetic Arc

The World Heritage Site is comprised of 34 points of measurement between the Arctic Ocean and the outlet of River Danube. The points of measurement are placed in all the 10 countries the arc passes through; Norway, Sweden, Finland, Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Moldova and Ukraine.

Struve Geodetic Arc. Photo: Directorate for Cultural Heritage

The Struve Geodetic Arc was the first scientific survey on a large scale in Europe. It was carried out under the leadership of Friedrich Georg Wilhelm Struve in the years 1816 to 1855. The Struve Geodetic Arc is unique in its extent and quality, and an important part of the history of geodetic science.

All the points in the List have one form or another of monumentation – be it a hole in rock, an iron bolt, a cairn, an obelisk or pillar. Four of these points are in Norway:

  1. The obelisk in Hammerfest
  2. Summit Lille Raipas (Unna Ráipásas) in Alta
  3. Summit Luvddiidcohkka (Lodiken) in Kautokeino
  4. Summit Bealjásvárri/Muvravárri in Kautokeino 

The Struve Geodetic Arc at www.environment.no »

The Struve Geodetic Arc at UNESCO »

Folder: The Struve Geodetic Arc